Newz House

Narendra Modi Announces Bharat Ratna For PV Narasimha Rao, Chaudhary Charan Singh and MS Swaminathan

Narendra Modi Announces Bharat Ratna For PV Narasimha Rao, Chaudhary Charan Singh and MS Swaminathan

Prime Minister Narendra Modi today announced that two former Prime Ministers of India PV Narasimha Rao, Chaudhary Charan Singh and scientist Mr Ms Swaminathan will be conferred with Bharat Ratna .

PM Modi took his social media account on X to make the announcement . PM Posted :


“Delighted to share that our former Prime Minister, Shri PV Narasimha Rao Garu, will be honoured with the Bharat Ratna. As a distinguished scholar and statesman, Narasimha Rao Garu served India extensively in various capacities. He is equally remembered for the work he did as Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Union Minister, and as a Member of Parliament and Legislative Assembly for many years. His visionary leadership was instrumental in making India economically advanced, laying a solid foundation for the country’s prosperity and growth. Narasimha Rao Garu’s tenure as Prime Minister was marked by significant measures that opened India to global markets, fostering a new era of economic development. Furthermore, his contributions to India’s foreign policy, language and education sectors underscore his multifaceted legacy as a leader who not only steered India through critical transformations but also enriched its cultural and intellectual heritage.”


“It is the good fortune of our government that former Prime Minister of the country Chaudhary Charan Singh is being honored with Bharat Ratna. This honor is dedicated to his incomparable contribution to the country. He had dedicated his entire life to the rights and welfare of farmers. Be it the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh or the Home Minister of the country and even as an MLA, he always gave impetus to nation building. He also stood firm against the Emergency. His dedication to our farmer brothers and sisters and his commitment to democracy during the Emergency is inspiring to the entire nation.”

“It is a matter of immense joy that the Government of India is conferring the Bharat Ratna on Dr. MS Swaminathan Ji, in recognition of his monumental contributions to our nation in agriculture and farmers’ welfare. He played a pivotal role in helping India achieve self-reliance in agriculture during challenging times and made outstanding efforts towards modernizing Indian agriculture. We also recognise his invaluable work as an innovator and mentor and encouraging learning and research among several students. Dr. Swaminathan’s visionary leadership has not only transformed Indian agriculture but also ensured the nation’s food security and prosperity. He was someone I knew closely and l always valued his insights and inputs.”

PV Narasimha Rao was India’s Prime Minister from 1991-1996 and is responsible for economic liberalization in the country.

Chaudhary Charan Singh was PM for a brief period in 1979 and was a popular face among farmers in the north India during his time.

Dr MS Swaminathan is the man responsible for the green revolution in India.


Also Read : Bharat Ratna For L K Advani

Exit mobile version